Happy Birthday to Me!

Welcome friends to my blog – Stable Thoughts. I will post here short blogs about whatever I feel like – things I observe in the horse world, human world or other animal world or all of the above.

I am starting this blog on my birthday and what a birthday it was. My human visited with a special cake made just for me. I’d like to say that I chomped it down and was very happy with all the wonderful cards and mints sent to me by my friends. Well, I was very happy with those mints and ate several, thank you all! But what I wanted most of all was to get outside and stretch my legs a bit and play in all that snow! Knowing that was what I most wanted, my human let me out without too much fuss.

Once I was outside, I was a bit dissapointed to find that the snow had melted and refroze into ice, not so much fun to run and roll in, but it still felt good to be outside.

I am now not only officially 13, but have actually turned 13. On birthdays, I tend to find myself looking back and forward. Does that make sense? Last year, one of my little brothers got to leave Puerto Rico where our dam is and come to the United States. I wish our dam could come back home, too. I am sure she misses the fine KY fields where she lived until the year I was born. And then I think of my sire, Sea Hero, who has become the oldest living KY Derby winner. He’s far away in Turkey, not the kind you humans eat, but a country I’m told. I know he must miss those VA fields where he took his first wobbly steps. I miss KY myself. Paris is such a wonderful place for a young foal to grow up. I’ve done quite a bit of traveling since that day 13 years ago when I stepped into the world. I’ve been to Florida, New Hampshire, Massachusettes, West Virigina and now Maryland.

As I look forward to another year, I am thankful for all my equine friends, the wonderful new human friends I’ve met through the Internet, the humans who come to visit me and the human who I call my own. I hope to live at least another 13 years knowing such wonderful individuals.

Be kind,

Blue Blue Sea

One thought on “Happy Birthday to Me!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

